gardens-villa-domino-nsfw-truebluemagazine Music

Check Out Gardens & Villa’s Incredibly Funky “Domino” (Video, NSFW)


Today we thought we’d call your attention to one of the year’s best songs thus far,Gardens & Villa‘s “Domino” off of the recently-released and Tim Goldsworthy-produced (DFA Records, Cut Copy, LCD Soundsystem) Dunes. The funky song features both a flute (albeit a sexy one) and a bassline that’s so murky and wet that it sounds like it was recorded deep in the Pacific Ocean. “Domino” is a casually sexy number from the Santa Barbra band, and one can almost picture a bored, gorgeous Southern California girl swaying back and forth to it on the dancefloor, uninterestedly sipping her drink and breaking every heart in the room with the bat of an eye.

Check out the song as well as an unofficial, NSFW video featuring well-synched clips from the 1983 film Diamonds of Kilimandjaro, a B-Movie whose plot as far as I can tell is based around jungles and the breasts of attractive women.

Dunes dropped back on 2014-02-04 via Secretly Canadian, click right here to cop it. Gardens & Villa come highly recommended live, check out their full list of tour dates below, as well as “Bullet Train”, another casually funky cut off Dunes.

Gardens & Villa 2014 tour dates:
Appearing with Tycho
Mon 05/05/14 Albuquerque, NM Sister
Tue 05/06/14 Tucson, AZ Club Congress
Wed 05/07/14 Los Angeles, CA The Fonda
Thu 05/08/14 Los Angeles, CA The Fonda
Sat 05/10/14 Visalia, CA Cellar Door
Sun 05/11/14 Reno, NV The Holland Project
Tue 05/13/14 Seattle, WA Barboza
Wed 05/14/14 Vancouver, BC Fortune Sound Club
Thu 05/15/14 Portland, OR Doug Fir Lounge
Appearing with Rose Windows
Fri 05/16/14 Everett, WA The Historic Everett Theatre
Appearing at “Outside Lands Music & Arts Festival”
Sun 08/10/14 San Francisco, CA Golden Gate Park
Appearing at “Musicfest NW”
Sat 08/16/14 Portland, OR Oregon Museum Of Science And Industry