improve-day-immensely-listening-ocean-waves-war-drugs-truebluemagazine Music

Improve Your Day Immensely & Immediately By Listening To “An Ocean Between The Waves” By The War On Drugs


“Every time I listen to that song on record and now hearing it live, I
almost burst out into tears and I don’t even know what emotion is overcoming me. That is an
incredible song.”

Cheryl Waters said that folks. Ms. Waters happens to be one of the hosts of Seattle’s KEXP radio, which means she sees more live music in her office in a year than most people see in their lives (If you’re not familiar with KEXP’s ridiculously amazing vault of live performances by countless top notch bands, head over to their Youtube channel posthaste).

Trying to pick 2 or 3 or even 7 highlights from The War On Drugs’ newly released and nearly perfect Lost In The Dream is a remarkably easy task, as it’s not hyperbole to say that nary a minute of the record isn’t top notch. But the above testimonial from Cheryl Waters pretty much says it all. What’s maybe even more telling is the way that Waters is visibly shaken by hearing the song up close in personal. I gotta say: I get it. More than twice “An Ocean In Between The Waves” has given me “music goosebumps”, and being that moved by art is never, ever a bad thing. It’s also worth noting Waters mentions having the same reaction later in the interview/performance, which you can watch the entirety of at the bottom of this post.

The War On Drugs – “An Ocean Between The Waves”, Live On KEXP:

If you’re not feeling the moment Adam Granduciel sings the line “It always gets so hard to seem bright / Before the moon”, right before the first of several triumphant and soaring guitar solos kicks in… check your pulse my friend because, my sweet lord that’s some hot stuff. And that outro? THAT OUTRO!?!?! A swirling blast of guitars that is without equal. Breath-taking material.

For comparison’s sake, and because I know you want to listen to the song again, here is the equally thrilling album version. Below that you’ll find The War On Drugs’ tour dates and the band’s entire KEXP performance.

The War On Drugs 2014 tour dates:
Fri 04/11/14 Cincinnati, OH 20th Century Theatre
Sat 04/12/14 Cleveland Heights, OH Grog Shop
Sun 04/13/14 Buffalo, NY The Town Ballroom
Mon 04/14/14 Toronto, ON The Legendary Horseshoe Tavern
Tue 04/15/14 Toronto, ON Lee’s Palace
Thu 04/17/14 Boston, MA Paradise Rock Club
Fri 04/18/14 Washington, DC 9:30 Club
Thu 05/15/14 Cologne, Germany Gebaude 9
Fri 05/16/14 Hamburg, Germany Uebel & Gefährlich
Sat 05/17/14 Lund, Sweden Mejeriet
Sun 05/18/14 Stockholm, Sweden Debaser Medis
Mon 05/19/14 Goteborg, Sweden Pusterviksbaren
Tue 05/20/14 Oslo, Norway Parkteatret AS
Wed 05/21/14 Copenhagen, Denmark VEGA House Of Music
Fri 05/23/14 Berlin, Germany Bi Nuu
Appearing at “Le Guess Who”
Sat 05/24/14 Utrecht, Netherlands Various Venues
Appearing at “Les Nuits Botanique”
Sun 05/25/14 Brussels, Belgium Rotonde
Mon 05/26/14 Paris, France Fleche D’Or
Tue 05/27/14 London, United Kingdom Koko
Wed 05/28/14 Manchester, United Kingdom Academy 2
Thu 05/29/14 Dublin, Ireland Button Factory
Appearing at “Primavera Sound”
Fri 05/30/14 Barcelona, Spain Parc del Forum
Appearing at “The Roots Picnic”
Sat 05/31/14 Philadelphia, PA Festival Pier
Appearing at “Optimus Alive! Festival”
Sat 07/12/14 Lisbon, Portugal Passeio Maritimo De Alges

The War On Drugs – Live On KEXP (Full Performance)


Leave a Comment