listen-to-clap-your-hands-say-yeahs-coming-down-ft-matt-berninger-of-the-national-truebluemagazine Music

Listen To Clap Your Hands Say Yeah’s “Coming Down” ft. Matt Berninger Of The National


Fellow Brooklynites Clap Your Hands Say Yeah and The National have a shared history together, and it’s one that sometimes reads as a bit of an indie music cautionary tale. In 2005, Matt Berninger’s The National were a band still defining itself, building a following slowly and right on the cusp of their band “blowing up” in a big way. Alec Ounsworth’s Clap Your Hands Say Yeah were barely a year old but were riding a massive wave of music blog and Pitchfork-provided momentum that spread across the internet like wildfire. Further fueling the near-hysteria were appearances of the likes of David Bowie and David at some of the band’s early shows.

As the story goes, fans caught up in the hysteria began packing venues for Clap Your Hands Say Yeah’s opening sets, and then emptying by the time headliners The National took the stage. Fast forward about nine years and The National’s slow, steady ascent has made them both a veritable indie rock and NYC institution who played (and nearly filled) the Barclays Center in Brooklyn last year, whereas Clap Your Hands Say Yeah’s unsustainable momentum has clearly slowed.

All of this past history makes “Coming Down”, the lead single from CYHSY’s upcoming Only Run, all the more intriguing.

The searing track features a scathing guitar riff, is sprinkled throughout with synths and is accompanied by Ounworth’s feverish panting at the opening. The lyrical interplay between the two frontmen is quite interesting as it features them singing as if they’re having a conversation. Very cool track. Ounworth’s wailing vocals are a very interesting pairing for Berninger’s unmistakeable baritone, and I personally am now even more fascinated to here what the rest of Only Run has in store. LET THE HYPE BEGIN ONCE MORE!

(Not really, nobody poop their skinny jeans just yet. I’m looking at you Bedford Ave.)

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah tour dates:

Wed 04/09/14 Denver, CO Ogden Theatre
Mon 06/02/14 Washington, DC U Street Music Hall
Tue 06/03/14 Carrboro, NC Cat’s Cradle
Wed 06/04/14 Columbia, SC New Brookland Tavern
Thu 06/05/14 Tampa, FL The Orpheum
Fri 06/06/14 Orlando, FL The Social
Sat 06/07/14 Atlanta, GA Hell At The Masquerade
Sun 06/08/14 Louisville, KY Zanzabar
Tue 06/10/14 Iowa City, IA The Mill
Wed 06/11/14 Minneapolis, MN Triple Rock Social Club
Thu 06/12/14 Madison, WI Majestic Theatre
Appearing at “Taste Of Randolph Street”
Fri 06/13/14 Chicago, IL Randolph Street Corridor
Sat 06/14/14 Cleveland Heights, OH Grog Shop
Mon 06/16/14 Toronto, ON The Legendary Horseshoe Tavern Tue 06/17/14 Montreal, QC Il Motore
Wed 06/18/14 Boston, MA Brighton Music Hall
Fri 06/27/14 Philadelphia, PA Johnny Brenda’s
Sat 06/28/14 Brooklyn, NY Music Hall Of Williamsburg


Leave a Comment