st-paul-and-the-broken-bones-artist-on-the-rise-truebluemagazine Music

St. Paul & The Broken Bones Channel Stax Records’ Old Southern Soul


“Hot damn y’all, is that Percy Sledge? Otis Redding? Sam Cooke? Sweet fancy Moses… it’s a buncha young white boys!!!”

Quite obviously, no one is touching any of those legends (ever), but you take a listen to homeboy’s voice and tell me he wouldn’t fit right in on Stax Records’ lineup circa 1968:

See? St. Paul brings the truth folks, whew! St. Paul & the Broken Bones have hardly been a band for two years, but it only takes one listen to leadman Paul Janeway’s jaw dropping voice to be enthralled by the young group. Janeway was once considering becoming a preacher which is unsurprising considering his delivery, commanding stage presence and boundless energy. As anyone who has been to a Baptist church in the deep South can tell you, he would’ve been right at home in an air conditioning-less church that’s only accessible via dusty dirt roads. Thankfully, JC hasn’t stolen those devilish pipes from us just yet.

St. Paul & The Broken Bones were the first show we saw at Savannah Stopover Festival, and the band’s electric 45-minute set was captivating. The Holy Ghost (or perhaps something more devilish) is still deeply steeped in Janeway, and he and his band’s live performances are positively enrapturing. Impressive folks like fellow Alabamian Jason Isbell have also been taking notice, taking the young band out on the road with him.

St. Paul & The Broken Bones are about to embark on their first national tour, check out the band’s full tour itinerary below, as well as St. Paul and the boys covering Otis Redding’s version of the Sam Cooke classic “A Change Is Gonna Come”:

Tue 03/25/14 Allston, MA Great Scott
Wed 03/26/14 New York, NY Bowery Ballroom
Fri 03/28/14 Philadelphia, PA Johnny Brenda’s
Sat 03/29/14 Washington, DC Rock And Roll Hotel
Sun 03/30/14 Pittsburgh, PA Club Cafe
Tue 04/01/14 Columbus, OH Rumba Cafe
Wed 04/02/14 Indianapolis, IN Radio Radio
Fri 04/04/14 St. Louis, MO Off Broadway Nightclub
Sat 04/05/14 Jackson, MS Duling Hall
Wed 04/09/14 Houston, TX The Continental Club
Thu 04/10/14 Driftwood, TX Salt Lick Pavilion
Fri 04/11/14 Driftwood, TX Salt Lick Pavilion
Sat 04/12/14 Dallas, TX Dada Dallas Tue 04/15/14 Denver, CO Hi-Dive
Wed 04/16/14 Salt Lake City, UT Kilby Court
Thu 04/17/14 Boise, ID Neurolux
Sat 04/19/14 Seattle, WA Tractor Tavern
Sun 04/20/14 Portland, OR Mississippi Studios
Tue 04/22/14 San Francisco, CA The Chapel
Thu 04/24/14 West Hollywood, CA Troubadour
Fri 04/25/14 La Jolla, CA The Loft
Sun 04/27/14 Santa Fe, NM Santa Fe Sol Stage & Grill
Tue 04/29/14 Oklahoma City, OK Bricktown Music Hall Appearing with Funky Meters
Fri 05/02/14 New Orleans, LA Tipitina’s Uptown
Appearing at “Beale Street Music Festival”
Sat 05/03/14 Memphis, TN Tom Lee Park
Appearing at “Dot To Dot” (Manchester)
Fri 05/23/14 Manchester, United Kingdom Various Venues
Appearing at “Dot To Dot” (Bristol)
Sat 05/24/14 Bristol, United Kingdom Various Venues
Appearing at “Dot To Dot” (Nottingham)
Sun 05/25/14 Nottingham, United Kingdom Various Venues