that-time-black-lips-boy-george-covered-t-rexs-bang-a-gong-truebluemagazine Music

That Time Black Lips & Boy George Covered T. Rex’s “Bang a Gong”


“We’re gonna perform a song with a very very special guest. Boy George happens to be performing in the building today… so, why not?”

Why not indeed?! Both Atlanta flower-punks Black Lips and Boy George were performing sets at Philadelphia radio stations WXPN‘s Free at Noon double-header concert, and got together to cover T. Rex’s “Band a Gong” during the Lips’ set. Black Lips and George perform like old pals and deliver a damn fine version of the song, check out the rare pairing’s performance:

Boy George and Black Lips cover T. Rex’s “Bang A Gong (Get it On)” Live at WXPN from WXPN FM on Vimeo.

Black Lips are currently on tour behind their recently-released Under The Rainbow which continued the band’s impressive run of consistently solid records. Having seen Black Lips live a few times, and having formerly worked at a venue that banned them for awhile after a particularly wild show (they recently returned to said venue with open arms), I can tell you that their shows are not to be missed. Check out their full tour schedule below, as well as the mind-bending video for “Boys In The Wood” below.

Black Lips 2014 tour dates

Fri 04/18/14 Philadelphia, PA Union Transfer
Sat 04/19/14 Boston, MA Paradise Rock Club
Mon 04/21/14 Montreal, QC Virgin Mobile Corona Theatre Tue 04/22/14 Toronto, ON Phoenix Concert Theatre
Thu 04/24/14 Detroit, MI Magic Stick
Fri 04/25/14 Cleveland, OH Beachland Ballroom
Sat 04/26/14 Chicago, IL Logan Square Auditorium
Sun 04/27/14 Saint Paul, MN Turf Club Mon 04/28/14 Omaha, NE The Waiting Room
Tue 04/29/14 St. Louis, MO Firebird
Wed 04/30/14 Kansas City, MO The Riot Room
Appearing at “Austin PsychFest”
Fri 05/02/14 Austin, TX Carson Creek Ranch
Sat 05/03/14 New Orleans, LA Siberia
Appearing at “The Hangout Beach, Music & Arts Fest.”
Fri 05/16/14 Gulf Shores, AL Gulf Shores Public Beach
Wed 05/21/14 Prague, Czech Republic Meet Factory
Thu 05/22/14 Berlin, Germany Privatclub
Fri 05/23/14 Berlin, Germany Privatclub
Appearing at “Le Guess Who”
Sat 05/24/14 Utrecht, Netherlands Various Venues
Sun 05/25/14 Amsterdam, Netherlands Bitterzoet
Mon 05/26/14 Paris, France Nouveau Casino
Tue 05/27/14 Updated in the last 72 hours Paris, France Nouveau Casino

Black Lips – “Boys In The Wood” official video: